UPSC Courses

DNA banner


  • 19 May, 2020

  • 3 Min Read

Green Nobel Prize

Prafulla Samantara

He is the Green Nobel Prize winner and environmental activist.

Green Nobel Prize

  • The Green Nobel, also known as the Goldman Environmental Prize, is the gift awarded to six environmental activists every year.
  • The six environmental activists are selected from the six geographical regions on the planet (Central and South America, North America, Island nations and Islands, Europe, Africa, and Asia).
  • The award identifies environmental activists from each of these regions who risk their lives to protect their environment.
  • The prizes are issued at the Goldman-Environmental Foundation’s headquarter in San Francisco, California.

Founders of the Green Nobel

  • The Goldman Environmental Prize was founded by philanthropists and civic leaders Richard and Rhoda Goldman in 1989.
  • Together they formed the Richard and Rhoda Goldman Fund in 1951. The couple has donated over $680 million to numerous organizations in San Francisco like the Rhoda Goldman Plaza and the San Francisco Jewish Community Center.
  • The Goldman Environmental Prize awarded six prizes every year worth $150,000 by 2010. The awards amounted to $200,000 as of 2019. By the time Richard Goldman passed away in 2010, they had awarded $13.2 million to environmental activists from over seventy nations.

Source: TH

Students Achievement

Search By Date

Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts