UPSC Courses

Indian Independence Act 1947

About Indian Independence Act 1947

  1. It created 2 independent Dominions of India and Pakistan.
  2. Each Dominion will have a governor General (appointed by British King on the advice of the dominion cabinet) and the viceroy was abolished.  
  3. Lord Mountbatten was the 1st Governor General of India and Jinnah became the 1st Governor General of Pakistan of new India. GG was to be constitutional (nominal) heads to be acting on the advice of Council of Ministers.
  4. the constituent Assembly of each dominion will exercise the power of the legislature. The existing Central legislative Assembly and Council of States to be dissolved. 
  5. It abolished the Secretary of State (SoS) for Indiaandtransferred his functions to SoS for Commonwealth Affairs.


  • Changes in Constituent Assembly:  It became the Parliament of Indian Dominion. The Constituent Assembly was made a fully sovereign body that could frame any constitution and repeal any act including this one. It was given 2 major separate functions which continued till Nov 26, 1949and other minor functions.
  1. Making of a Constitution. When it met as a Constituent body, it was chaired by Dr. Rajendra Prasad.
  2. Enacting of Ordinary Laws: When it met as a legislative body, it was chaired by G V Mavlankar (Speaker).
  3. Before independence: It adopted the National Flag on July 22, 1947.
  4. Post-Independence: It ratified India’s membership to Common wealth in May 1949. It adopted the National Anthem, National Song, elected 1stPresident of India, and had its last session all on 24thJan 1950. However, it continued as a provisional Parliament of India from Jan 26, 1950 till the formation of new Parliament after the 1stelections in 1951-52.
  • The members of interim govt were the members of the Viceroy’s Executive Council with Viceroy as the head. But Nehru was designated as the vice president of the Council. Coz Mountbatten was the President.
  • It proclaimed lapse of British paramountcy over Indian princely States, freedom to join India / Pak / remain independent and with tribals.
  • Till the new constitution is enacted, governed by the Govt of India Act, 1935. However, you can modify it.
  • It deprived British Monarch of his right to veto or reserve certain bills for his approval but this right was reserved to Governor General  in the name of King.


Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts

Important Links