UPSC Courses

Sports Sector Schemes In India

Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports is the nodal agency for Sports sector in India. This topic is important for UPSC Prelims and Mains. 

Khelo India Programme:

  • It is a Central Sector Scheme with 12 components and achieving twin objectives of NYP, 2001: broadbasing sports and achieving excellence in sports.
  • It was introduced to revive the sports culture in India at grass root level.
  • Talented players will be given annual financial assistance of Rs. 5 lakh/ year for 8 years.
  • It was launched after merging Rajiv Gandhi Khel Abhiyan, Urban Sports Infra Scheme (USIS) and National Sports Talent Search System Programme.
  • 12 components include: Community coaching, annual sports competition, State level centers, sports infra, physical fitness, women, PwD, peace and development and indigenous/ tribal games.
  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Abhiyan

    1. It replaced Panchayat Yuva Krida/ Khel Abhiyan (focused on sports infrastructure at village and block level.
    2. RGKA is a Centrally Sponsored Scheme. For block level sports complex.
    3. Promote sports, increase access, competitions,
    4. Construct sports complexes in every rural block or Panchayat.
    5. 11 outdoor and 5 indoor games, 3 sports trainer with 1 female.
    6. Assistance for sports equipments and self defense training for women.


Sports Authority of India (SAI), 1984:

  • It is a society under Societies Registration Act, 1860.
  • Come and Play Scheme: by SAI in collaboration with MoYA&S at different SAI stadium complexes in Delhi.

World Anti Doping Agency (WADA):, 1999

  • WADA was set up as an independent, international agency with the  aim of creating an environment in world sport that is free of doping.
  • HQ is at Montreal, Canada and NADA is set up on the lines of WADA.
  • A new Code was introduced in 2015 with ramifications for athletes, sporting organisations and medical  practitioners who deal with high-level athletes.

National Anti Doping Agency (NADA), 2005

  • It is a society under SRA, 1860, set up in 2005 with a mandate for Dope free sports in India.
  • Objectives: Implement anti doping rules as per WADA code, regulate dope control programme, promote education and research and create awareness.

Prelims Pointers

  • Sports is a State subjectNational Sports Development Fund: 100% exemption from I-T.
  • Pandit DDU National Welfare Fund, 1982 renamed in 2017. To assist outstanding sportspersons of yesteryears. 2 lakh per year.
  • Sports Facts:
    1. Summer Olympics:  2016-Rio,Brazil;  2020-Tokyo,Japan; 2024-Paris,France. 75 lakhs: 50: 30 for Gold: Silver: Bronze.
    2. Winter Olympics: 2018-Pyeongchang,South Korea; 2022-Beijing,China; 2026-Milano Cortina,Italy.
    3. Asian Games: 2018-Jakarta,Indonesia 2022-Hangzhou,  China 2026- Japan. 30 lakhs: 20: 10 for Gold: Silver: Bronze.
    4. Commonwealth Games: 2018-Australia. 2022-Birmingham, UK. 30 lakhs: 20: 10 for Gold: Silver: Bronze.
  • Institutes
    1. Lakshmibai National Institute of Physical Education, Gwalior.
    2. National Sports University in Manipur.
    3. Netaji Subhash National Institute of Sports, Patiala.

Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Awards

  • Started from 1991-92.
  • 7.5 lakhs rupees awarded for performance over 4 years.

Arjuna Award

  • Started from 1961.
  • 5 lakhs rupees awarded for a performance of 4 years and those who have qualities of leadership, sportsmanship and discipline.

Dhyanchand Award

  • Started in 2002.
  • 5 lakhs rupees awarded to the sportspersons for Lifetime achievement.

Dronacharya Award

  • Started in 1985.
  • 5 lakhs rupees given to honor the coaches of India.

Maulana Abul Kalam Azad Trophy

  • Started in 1956-57.
  • It is given to a University and it is a rolling trophy.

Rashtriya Khel Protsahan Puraskar

  • Started in 2009. No cash award here.
  • It is given to entities other than sportspersons and coaches.

National Sports Awards 2020

  • Rajiv Gandhi Khel Ratna Award: Rohit Sharma (Cricket), MariyappanThangavelu (Para-Athletics), ManikaBatra (Table Tennis), VineshPhogat (Wrestling), Rani Rampal (Hockey).
  • Arjuna Award: Atanu Das (Archery), Dutee Chand (Athletics), SatwikSairajRankireddy (Badminton), Chirag Chandrasekhar Shetty (Badminton), VisheshBhriguvanshi (Basketball), Manish Kaushik (Boxing), LovlinaBorgohain (Boxing), Ishant Sharma (Cricket), Deepti Sharma (Cricket), Sawant Ajay Anant (Equestrian), SandeshJhingan (Football), Aditi Ashok (Golf), Akashdeep Singh (Hockey), Deepika (Hockey), Deepak (Kabaddi), Kale Sarika Sudhakar (Kho Kho), DattuBabanBhokanal (Rowing), Manu Bhaker (Shooting), Saurabh Chaudhary (Shooting), MadhurikaPatkar (Table Tennis), DivijSharan (Tennis), Shiva Keshavan (Winter Sports), DivyaKakran (Wrestling), Rahul Aware (Wrestling), Suyash Narayan Jadhav (Para-Swimming), Sandeep (Para-Athletics), Manish Narwal (Para Shooting).
  • Dronacharya Award (Life-Time Category): DharmendraTiwary (Archery), Purushotham Rai (Athletics), Shiv Singh (Boxing), RomeshPathania (Hockey), Krishan Kumar Hooda (Kabaddi), Vijay BhalchandraMunishwar (Para Powerlifting), Naresh Kumar (Tennis), Om Parkash Dahiya (Wrestling).
  • Dronacharya (Regular Category): Jude Felix (Hockey), YogeshMalviya (Mallakhamb), JaspalRana (Shooting), Kuldeep Kumar Handoo (Wushu), Gaurav Khanna (Para Badminton).
  • Dhyan Chand Award: Kuldip Singh Bhullar (Athletics), Jincy Philips (Athletics), Pradeep ShrikrishnaGandhe (Badminton), TruptiMurgunde (Badminton), N Usha(Boxing), Lakha Singh (Boxing), Sukhvinder Singh Sandhu (Football), Ajit Singh (Hockey), Manpreet Singh (Kabaddi), J Ranjith Kumar (Para-Athletics), Satyaprakash Tiwari (Para Badminton), Manjeet Singh (Rowing), Late Shri Sachin Nag (Swimming), Nandan Bal (Tennis), NetarpalHooda (Wrestling).
  • Tenzing Norgay National Adventure Awards: Anita Devi (Land Adventure), Col Sarfraz Singh (Land Adventure), Taka Tamut (Land Adventure), Keval Hiren Kakka (Land Adventure), Satendra Singh (Water Adventure), Gajanand Yadava (Air Adventure), Late MaganBissa (Life Time Achievement).
  • Maulana Abul Kalam Azad (MAKA) Trophy: Panjab University, Chandigarh.
  • Rashtriya Khel ProtsahanPuruskar:
  • Identification and Nurturing of Budding and Young Talent: Lakshya Institute, Army Sports Institute.
  • Encouragement to sports through Corporate Social Responsibility: Oil and Natural Gas Corporation (ONGC) Ltd.
  • Employment of sportspersons and sports welfare measures: Air Force Sports Control Board.
  • Sports for Development: International Institute of Sports Management (IISM).
Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts