UPSC Courses

DNA banner


  • SHARE " Rajya sabha"
You searched “

Rajya sabha

”. Your tag search matches the following results:

Rajya Sabha election process

How are elections to the Rajya Sabha held? Context Another round of Rajya Sabha elections has been completed. Polls to some seats were postponed in view of the situation caused by the novel coronavirus outbreak. There was a hint of controversy about who ought to have been allowed to vote or barred from voting in Manipur. Such issues arise mainly due to the interpretation of rules and features peculiar to the Rajya Sabha elections. Concerns which are raise in present RS electio

Rajya Sabha Polls

Rajya Sabha Polls Rajya Sabha is a permanent House and is not subject to dissolution.  However, one-third Members of Rajya Sabha retire after every second year (biennial). A member who is elected for a full term serves for a period of six years.  The election held to fill a vacancy arising otherwise than by retirement of a member on the expiration of his term of office is called ‘Bye-election’. A member elected in a bye-election remains a member for the remainder of t

Disruption in the Parliament is the Contempt of the House

Disruption in the Parliament is the Contempt of the House In a first by any Presiding Officer of the legislatures in the country and in the context of rising disruptions, Rajya Sabha Chairman Shri M.Venkaiah Naidu today unequivocally held that disruptions of proceedings amount to contempt of the House and disruptors can’t claim it as their privilege to do so. Productivity of Rajya Sabha Speaking on disruptions in the Parliament, Shri Naidu informed that the productivity of Raj


NOMINATION TO RAJYA SABHA Recently, the Central Government nominated 4 members to the Rajya Sabha. Soon, the Legislative Assemblies of 4 states will also elect 16 MPs to Rajya Sabha. Nominated member The four new nominated members in the Rajya Sabha are: Track and field icon -Pt Usha Musician- Ilaiyaraaja Telugu screenwriter- V Vijayendra Prasad, and Philanthropist and spiritual leader- Veerendra Hegade All these members belong to four southern states, Tamil Nadu, Ke

Quota Kerfuffle in Karnataka

Quota Kerfuffle in Karnataka At the Cabinet Meeting in Karnataka, the administration abolished the nearly three-decades-old 4% Reservation for Muslims in the Other Backward Classes (OBC) category and gave the remaining 2% to the state's two largest landowner communities, the Veerashaiva Lingayats and Vokkaligas. About The Cabinet resolved to eliminate the 4% reservation granted to Muslims under Category 2B and to exclude them from the OBC category. Under the newly framed 2


Search By Date

Post Feed

Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts

Important Links