UPSC Courses

DNA banner


  • 24 October, 2019

  • Min Read

National Ambient Air Quality Standards, Air Quality Index , SAFAR

National Air Quality Index’ (AQI):

Was launched in 2014 to disseminate information on air quality

Initiative under Swachh Bharat Mission

The measurement of air quality is based on eight pollutants

AQI has six categories of air quality. These are: Good, Satisfactory, Moderately Polluted, Poor, Very Poor and Severe.

AQI is considered as ‘One Number- One Colour-One Description’ for the common man to judge the air quality within his vicinity.

8 pollutants measured by AQI :

1.Particulate Matter (size less than 10 µm) or (PM10),

2.Particulate Matter (size less than 2.5 µm) or (PM2.5),

3.Nitrogen Dioxide (NO2),

4.Sulphur Dioxide (SO2),

5.Carbon Monoxide (CO),

6.Ozone (O3),

7.Ammonia (NH3), and

8.Lead (Pb)

National Ambient Air Quality Standards (NAAQS):

National Ambient Air Quality Standards are the standards for ambient air quality set by the Central Pollution Control Board (CPCB)

The CPCB has been conferred this power by the Air (Prevention and Control of Pollution) Act, 1981.

Ambient Air Quality Standards contains 12 pollutants (8 pollutants contained in AQI and 4 others given below)

Benzo(a)Pyrene (BaP)

System of Air Quality and Weather Forecasting and Research (SAFAR) :

Initiative introduced by the Ministry of Earth Sciences (MoES) to measure the air quality of a metropolitan city

Indigenously developed by the Indian Institute of Tropical Meteorology (IITM), Pune and is operationalized by the India Meteorological Department (IMD).

It gives out real-time air quality index on a 24×7 basis with color-coding (along with 72 hours advance forecast).

SAFAR is an integral part of India’s first Air Quality Early Warning System operational in Delhi.


increase awareness among the general public regarding the air quality in their city

helps the policy-makers to develop appropriate mitigation measures and systematic actions

Pollutants monitored by SAFAR:




Carbon Monoxide (CO)

Nitrogen Oxides (NOx)

Sulfur Dioxide (SO2)






Pradhan Mantri Suryodaya Yojana

Recently, Prime Minister announced Pradhan Mantri Suryodaya Yojana under which 1 crore households will get rooftop solar power systems. India’s Status of Current Solar Capacity India currently stands at 4th place globally in solar power capacity. As per Ministry of New an

Foreign Contribution Regulation Act (FCRA)- NGO 

The Foreign Contribution Regulation Act, 2010 (FCRA) registration of two prominent non-governmental organisations (NGOs) — Centre for Policy Research (CPR) and World Vision India (WVI) have been cancelled this month. What is FCRA? Key provisions of FCRA, 2010 Key aspects Description

Voice clone-AI

Voice clone fraud has been on the rise in India. AI voice cloning – It is the process of creating a synthetic replica of a person’s voice through machine learning and speech synthesis technology.It is called as voice deepfakesor audio deepfakes. Objective – To achieve a high level of na

Science communication- how to promote

Steps taken by India to promote Science Communication Publications and Information Directorate (PID) - An organisation under Council of Science and Industrial Research (CSIR) established in 1951 for publishing and disseminating scientific information in India. National science magazines- The PI

Universal Basic Income (UBI)- Analysis

Universal Basic Income (UBI) can strengthen welfare architecture and unlock the nation’s latent demographic potential. UBI - It is an income support mechanism typically intended to reach all or a very large portion of the population regardless of their earnings or employment status. Objective- To provide enough to co


Search By Date

Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts

Important Links