UPSC Courses

DNA banner


  • 03 February, 2020

  • 2 Min Read

Kerala islands under CRZ regime

Syllabus subtopic: Conservation, Environmental Pollution and Degradation, Environmental Impact Assessment.

Prelims and Mains focus: about the CRZ regime and its significance

News: As many as 2,130 backwater islands of Kerala, including Maradu, have been brought under the Coastal Regulation Zone (CRZ) regime thereby imposing curbs on development activities.


The provisions of the CRZ 2011 notification made special provisions for Kerala considering the unique coastal systems of backwaters and backwaters islands along with the space limitation in the coastal stretches of the State of Kerala.

CRZ 2011 notification

  • Within the 50 metre CRZ area of these islands, only the repair and reconstruction of existing dwelling units of local communities will be permitted.

  • Beyond the 50 metre limit, the local communities could construct new dwelling units with the permission of the local body.

Changes made by CRZ 2019 notification

  • The CRZ area of these islands has been reduced to 20 metres in the subsequent CRZ notification issued in 2019, allowing more land for construction towards the water body. One may have to wait for some more time for availing of the benefits of the CRZ 2019 notification, as it is yet to come into force.

  • Till the 2019 notification comes into effect, the 2011 notification will hold good.

What is the CRZ area?

  • No new development activity will be permitted in these islands in an area between High Tide Line (HTL) and 50 metres towards the landward side, which is the CRZ area of these islands.

  • The HTL is the line on the land up to which the highest water line reaches during the spring tide.

Islands on the CRZ list

  • The islands of Mulavukad, Chendamangalam, Kothad, Pizhala and Kadamakudy of Ernakulam where some major CRZ violations have been reported are there in the list of 1,068 islands of the district.

  • The 474 islands of Alappuzha and the 184 of Kollam are also in the list. Thiruvananthapuram has the least number of islands, 43.

  • This is for the first time that the list of the Kerala islands is being drawn up.

  • The list of the islands was prepared by the National Centre for Earth Science Studies, Thiruvananthapruam, for the Kerala Coastal Zone Management Authority (KCZMA).

Source: The Hindu

What is Mission Indradhanush ?

Mission Indradhanush was launched in 2014 under the Ministry of Health and Family Welfare.  1. Between 2009 - 2013, only 1% coverage per year has increased. We have to make it to 5%. 2. Objectives of Mission Indradhanush: We have the aim of full coverage by 2020. Cover all those children who are either unvaccinated or are part

Mediation Bill 2021 - Detailed Overview

A Bill that could alter the Mediation landscape The background behind Mediation Bill:         In General, Disputes Became part and parcel of  Day-to-Day Life. Someone or the Other belonging to family or else not a part of the family would be fighting for something. These Disputes may be for Smaller or B

Military exercises of India

List of all Military Exercises of India 2021 Military Exercises of India with Neighbours Sampriti: India & Bangladesh Mitra Shakti: India & Sri Lanka Surya Kiran: India & Nepal Hand in Hand Exercise: India & China Ekuverin: India & Maldives Military Exercises of India with Other countries Maitree Exer

Consumer Protection Rules, 2021

Consumer Protection (Jurisdiction of the District Commission, the State Commission and the National Commission) Rules, 2021 1) Pecuniary Jurisdiction The Consumer Protection Act, 2019 The Consumer Protection Act, 2019 promulgates a three-tier quasi-judicial mechanism for redressal of consumer disputes namely district commissions, state

Swachh Bharat Mission (Urban) 2.0

The Swachh Bharat Mission - Urban (SBM-U), launched on 2nd October 2014 aims at making urban India free from open defecation and achieving 100% scientific management of municipal solid waste in 4,041 statutory towns in the country. The objectives of the mission are mentioned below: Elimination of open defecation Eradication of Manual S

Students Achievement

Search By Date

Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts