UPSC Courses

DNA banner


  • 10 August, 2022

  • 8 Min Read



  • Malaysia has been promised 18 Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) "Tejas" from the Indian government.
  • The single-engine jet also piqued the interest of Argentina, Australia, Egypt, the United States, Indonesia, and the Philippines.
  • For 83 of the locally made Tejas planes, the Indian government awarded a USD6 billion contract to state-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited in 2021, with deliveries beginning in roughly 2023.

What is Tejas Aircraft?

The Government of India launched the Light Combat Aircraft (LCA) programme in 1984 and set up the Aeronautical Development Agency (ADA) to oversee it.

It took the place of the outdated Mig 21 fighter jets.

Designed by:

The Aeronautical Development Agency under the Department of Defence Research and Development.

Manufactured by:

The State-owned Hindustan Aeronautics Limited (HAL)


  • The class's lightest, smallest, and most manoeuvrable multi-role supersonic fighter aircraft.
  • It is designed to transport a variety of precision-guided, air-to-air and air-to-surface weaponry.
  • The capabilities for air-to-air refuelling.
  • 4000 kg is the maximum payload capacity.
  • It is capable of travelling at a top speed of Mach 1.8 and has a 3,000-kilometre range.

Variants of Tejas:

Tejas Trainer:

2-seater operational conversion trainer for training air force pilots.

LCA Navy:

Twin- and single-seat carrier-capable for the Indian Navy.

LCA Tejas Navy MK2:

This is phase 2 of the LCA Navy variant.

LCA Tejas Mk-1A:

This is an improvement over the LCA Tejas Mk1 with a higher thrust engine.

Read also - Soil Mapping

Source: PIB

Draft Indian Nutrition Rating (INR)

Draft Indian Nutrition Rating (INR) The country's top food regulator, the Food Safety and Standards Authority of India (FSSAI), has published a draft regulation for front-of-pack labeling. Major Points This draft notification addresses front-of-pack labelling in an effort to deter customers from purchasing packaged foods that are h

Social Audit of Social Sector Scheme

Social Audit of Social Sector Scheme The Rajasthan government has made the first-ever decision in the nation to create a specialized social and performance audit authority to undertake social audits of initiatives. What does this decision mean, exactly? Make public accountability a priority: In addition to conducting performance

Dharamshala Declaration 2022

Dharamshala Declaration 2022 & Tourism In India A recent three-day national tourist conference saw the introduction of the "Dharamshala Declaration 2022." Details about the news In the National Conference, the Center announced a comprehensive plan for the tourism industry. By 2024, tourism will have returned to its p

National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC)

National Assessment & Accreditation Council (NAAC) & Higher Education The Maharaja Sayajirao University of Baroda's National Assessment and Accreditation Council (NAAC) ratings recently sparked controversy since the institution's grade increased from A to A+ as a result of improvements across all areas. What is India's

Ethereum Merger

Ethereum Merger The second-most valued cryptocurrency in the world, Ethereum, just underwent a substantial software upgrade. About: Ethereum redesign: This process is referred to as "The Merge." It will do away with the requirement for cryptocurrency miners and massive mining farms, which previously powered the blockchai


Search By Date

Newsletter Subscription
SMS Alerts